top of page
Search
  • bernardinopaula

My quest to discover MY favourite Pinot Noir


Remember Sideways, the 2004 American comedy-drama road film where two buddies take a week-long road trip to California’s wine country looking for the best Pinot Noir? Ok, so maybe that’s not the exact synopsis of the movie but for me – that’s what that movie is all about and that’s how I remember it! When that movie came out and I went to watch it at a movie theatre I was 24 years old and not much of a "wine connoisseur". It was while watching that movie that I first heard of Pinot Noir and it stuck with me, especially seeing the obsession the character of Miles in the movie had about finding the perfect Pinot Noir. I kept thinking: “What is the big deal about Pinot Noir?” To say the least, it got me very curious with the desire to discover this type of wine.


Ever since that movie, I’ve given Pinot Noir a try and it has become one of my favourite types of wines. I love that garnet colour in the glass and flavours of cherries. Of course, my first choices were Pinot Noir from California and then started to be more adventurous by trying Pinot Noir from other regions, which has led me to discover some great gems from Oregon. Here are two examples:

I was therefore very excited when I saw Montreal’s wine bar Les Cavistes was having a virtual wine tasting on November 14 featuring three Pinot Noir. The choices were very intriguing to me: one from Australia, one from France and one from South Africa.

The Pinot Noir from Australia was the Soumah from the Yarra Valley. According the winery’s website: “Our d’Soumah range of wines are made with fruit sourced from our own and other premium vineyards throughout the Yarra Valley to produce wines of distinct character and finesse that our region has become famous. Pinot Noir is the most famous red from the Yarra Valley and is one of the best regions in Australia for producing new age, linear fresh wines.”

The Pinot Noir from South Africa was the Katvis from The Fledge & Co in Western Cape. I love their philosophy and story behind the name: “ ‘Preconception hinders the enjoyment of discovery’ – the mantra behind crafting Katvis. Multiple clones, sites, soils and using traditional vinification – this is our aim. Called Katvis (catfish) in honour of the tenacious, adaptable & unconventional denizen of the deep.” Check out the statement on the label: ‘Like a fish out of water’ – get it?


The third Pinot Noir featured in Les Cavistes’ event was from Burgundy in France. Often referred to as the “Red Burgundy”, Pinot Noir has a long history in this wine region. The SANTENAY "Le Temps des C(e)rises" is produced in the Olivier vineyard which was established at the end of the 60s.


I also recently came across this one at the SAQ which I really enjoyed: Soli from the Thracian Valley in Bulgaria produced at the Edoardo Miroglio winery.


Like Miles in Sideways, I am on a quest to discover not the best Pinot Noir, but MY favourite Pinot Noir. What is your favourite Pinot Noir?


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page