top of page
Search
  • bernardinopaula

California Wines Tasting Event with Class


The California Wines tasting event was back in Montreal June 29 in the stunning King Edward Belvedere venue in the Old Port of Montreal. The organizers did an awesome job preparing the location, which was very welcoming and divided in four different wine regions of California. As we walked in, there was also a small exhibition on the sustainability actions being undertaken by wineries in California.

As I walked through the event, I stopped at some of my favourite wineries from California.

My first stop was at the Francis Ford Coppola Winery kiosk. On display was the Noble Selection with products of their Diamond Collection such as the Red Blend with 33% Petit verdot 33 %, 15% Cabernet Sauvignon, 14 % Alicante Bouschet 14 and 27 % of other varietals. I also couldn't resist trying the Pinot Noir. The Black Label Claret was also available for tasting. And I couldn't leave the kiosk without tasting the Chardonnay.

I then stopped at the Robert Mondavi kiosk where I enjoyed the 2018 Cabernet Sauvignon which is a blend of 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 12 % Merlot, 11 % Cabernet Franc and 2% Syrah. I also had the chance to taste the 2018 To Kalon Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon, a blend of 93% Cabernet Sauvignon, 5% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot available at $225 at the winery.

My third stop was at the Silver Oak Family of Wines where I enjoyed the 2017 Silver Oak Cabernet Sauvignon from Alexander Valley which is a blend of 95% Cabernet Sauvignon, 4% Merlot and 1 % Cabernet Franc and is available at the SAQ at the price of $121.50. The 2017 Silver Oak Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley was also available at the tasting event - a complex red blend of 80.8% Cabernet Sauvignon, 14.6% Merlot, 2.9% Petit Verdot, 1% Cabernet Franc and 0.7% Malbec. Their 2018 Timeless from Napa Valley was available for tasting as well. Their two Twoney Pinot Noir, one from the Russian River Valley, and the other from the Anderson Valley, were also available.

My fourth stop was the Gallo Winery. I started with the 2016 Gallo Signature Series Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley which includes 94 % Cabernet Sauvignon and 6% Cabernet Franc. It is available at the SAQ at $60.25. I then tried the 2018 L'Usine Pinot Noir Sta.Rita Hills available at the SAQ at $80.25. I also liked their 2020 Eight Years in the Desert Orin Swift, a blend of 56% Zinfandel, 34% Petite Sirah and 10% Syrah. Finally, a big WOW for their 2020 Orin Swift Abstract, a blend of 45% Grenache, 30% Petite Sirah and 25% Syrah available at the SAQ at $56.25.

My final stop was at the Oak Ridge Winery where I tried their 2019 and 2020 Pinot Noir followed by their 2019 Chardonnay which is available at the SAQ at $21.95. I had tried their 2019 Maggio Cabernet Sauvignon at the Masterclass with Elaine Chukan which I enjoyed as well.

Do you have a favourite winery in California? Or a favourite region?



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page